May 8, 2012

Tuesday Teaser: Roam: A Novel with Music by Alan Lazar

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB; choose sentences at random from your current read. Identify the author and title for readers.


"Nelson slept fitfully. He woke up shivering several times, but even the cool night did not keep him from falling asleep again soon. The events of the day had exhausted the small animal. He had walked and run for hours, and he had been bombarded by a hundred stimuli he had never felt before. (ch. 11)
Title:Roam: A Novel with Music by Alan Lazar
Hardcover, November 1, 2011; Atria Books

Publisher's description:They say you never forget your first love . . .
Born under a sparkling crescent moon, Nelson is a bright-eyed, inquisitive half beagle, half poodle. He lives with Katey and Don, newlyweds whose marriage is straining under the pressures of domesticity, but Katey’s devotion to Nelson buoys the pup even as he worries his home may be falling apart.

But there are few things Nelson likes better than to follow a scent, and one day he follows his nose and gets lost . . . very lost. Though he searches frantically for Katey—and she for him—Nelson can’t seem to find his way home, and he soon realizes that if he’s ever to see his great love again, he must make his way on his own and try to survive in the wild.

Over the course of eight years, the book follows Nelson as he crosses the country searching for his family. For a time he rides shotgun with a truck driver named Thatcher, then he lives in the woods with a pack of wolves. A terrible accident takes his hind leg, but Nelson’s strength and longing to find Katey keep him alive. Escaping death in a shelter, Nelson grows into an old dog with a cynical eye and a world-weary demeanor, but underneath it all, a fearless and courageous spirit. After all, he believes that one day he’ll make it home . . . and maybe, just maybe, he will. . . .

Much more than the story of one dog’s incredible journey, this is a deeply moving story of survival and enduring love, which once again confirms the unbreakable bond between humans and their best friends. In the tradition of The Art of Racing in the Rain and The Story of Edgar Sawtelle, Roam is an unforgettable tale of love lost and found, the trials that test families, and an affirmation that no matter how far or how long you may travel, there’s always a place you can call home.

I received this book as a complimentary review copy.

15 comments:

  1. Awww....poor puppy! Sounds like this one could be sad.
    Here's my teaser!

    ReplyDelete
  2. OMG I want to read this story! I'm a huge dog lover and this sounds like a great read!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Sounds like a cute story....I enjoy the animal POV.

    Here's MY TUESDAY MEMES POST

    ReplyDelete
  4. I LOVE dogs! This sounds good, but a little sad, too.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Oh gosh, can't do it! I love the sound of this story, but I just can't read animal stories. They are too sad. I really hate that I am such a softie, but when I read books like these, I just cry and cry, and can't be consoled!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I am not getting the title at all. Music?

    This book sounds very sad. I was okay with it, until you mentioned that he was lost for 8 years! Goodness. That is a dog's entire life and he spent it looking for his owner! Not sure I can read it!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Sounds like one that will have me in tears.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Ti: There are printed codes to scan into your iPhone, I think, for the music.

    ReplyDelete
  9. This sounds sad but also good. I like the music idea, too.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Poor thing, he's lost. I can imagine all the strange stimuli, horns blowing, buses pulling out, bicycles, fires, would really disorient him. I have to write this title down.

    ReplyDelete
  11. I would read the end of the book before I began to make sure Nelson got home OK.
    Here is my review on Animals in Heaven?Catholics Want to Know: I won a book on LibraryThing.com to read and review called Animals In Heaven?Catholics Want to Know by Susi Pittman. Published by iUniversity,INC. Published 2009. I really find it interesting. This book has references to God's creatures and lots of passages. This is a book, only 121 pages, that can be left on a table and you can pick and choose a chapter to read when you have a minute. Part l:The Truth Out There, Part ll:Recognizing God's Plans, Part lll:The Way of the Soul, Part lV:Saints and the Animals, Part V:Personal Animal Miracles, Part Vl:Animals and Grief, Part Vll: I finished the book yesterday and there were a couple of chapters that were very emotional. I think most of us has had the experience of losing a pet and the heartbreak it brings us. Susi Pittman lost her husband from cancer and before he died, he encouraged her to write the book. I find her a very emotional and sincere person who lives and practices her faith and she does have faith. Order it for yourself or a gift for someone who loves their pet friend.
    Leona

    ReplyDelete
  12. Love the dog angle...my type of read!

    ReplyDelete
  13. I love the sound of this book.

    ReplyDelete

I love getting comments and your thoughts...