May 27, 2009

Agatha Award for Traditional Mysteries, 2008

"Traditional mysteries" written in the manner of an Agatha Christie novel have been recognized in the 2008 Agatha Award competition. The nominees are:

* award winners.

Best Novel:
Six Geese A-Slaying
by Donna Andrews
A Royal Pain by Rhys Bowen
* The Cruelest Month by Louise Penny
Buckingham Palace Gardens by Anne Perry
I Shall Not Want by Julia Spencer-Fleming

Best First Novel:
Through a Glass, Deadly by Sarah Atwell
The Diva Runs Out of Thyme by Krista Davis
Pushing Up Daisies by Rosemary Harris
* Death of a Cozy Writer by G.M. Malliet
Paper, Scissors, Death by Joanna Campbell Slan

To see the complete list of winners and categories, visit The Agatha Awards.


Sharon said...

I like Donna Andrews Meg Langslow mysteries, so I'm glad to see her on this list.

Harvee said...

A book that I really liked, her first, Murder with Peacocks, made me laugh a lot.

Anonymous said...

Thank you for posting this, I hadn't realised that the results were out. The Louise Penny is the only one I've read and I thought it was excellent, so I'm delighted she's won. And death of a Cozy Writer is a great title and sounds like it could be great. Time to check the library catalogue!

Sharon said...

My favorite Donna Andrews was Crouching Buzzard, Leaping Loon. Very funny!

Sunday Salon: Japanese Authors and a Mystery

  Klara and the Sun   by Kazuo Ishiguro.  Klara and the Sun was easy to read for a literary novel of such magnitude and celebrity, I found...